Conundrum

Sometimes lectures can be tedious, this generally tends to be either because as hard as I try I don’t understand what’s going on or it’s a ‘review’ lecture to refresh our memories from last year. One of these lectures was today and I took a break from listening for a while. In those little breaks we tried to solve this little problem:

You have to get 24 using the following numbers: 3, 3, 8 and 8. You must use ALL of the numbers to get the answer and the number can only be used once. You are also only allowed to use the following functions: + (addition), – (subtraction), * (multiplication) , / (division) and ( ) (brackets). It’s in log to the base 10 in-case you were wondering i.e. it’s just a normal situation.

I think 5 of us spent a good 15 – 20 mins trying to figure out the answer but couldn’t (I’m assured that it can be solved!) so we passed it on to one of lecturers to try who will hopefully tell us the result tomorrow. I then came back and spent about 20 more mins trying to find an answer but to no avail.

In other news, 2 hours of German and 2 hours of Spanish were fun, although I need to learn more vocab. and general grammatical rules. They haven’t yet merged together into one just yet but the alphabets and numbers and starting to turn slightly.

Only 2 hours of lectures tomorrow so I can catch up with my work …and I need to do a lot of that! Especially because the weekend is looking busy.

Sorry no photo for today, I don’t want to use photos are space fillers.

[song: cold light – yeah yeah yeahs]

~ by Abhinav on October 26, 2006.

One Response to “Conundrum”

  1. okay, i officially don’t like you-I have been trying to figure out that math problem. 🙂 i will continue to work for the answer, though, so don’t post it if you find out the solution.

Leave a Reply

 
