A Depressive Episode

sketch1.jpg

(pen on paper)

 When I did this sketch I was reading descriptions of depression in bipolar disorder, I think the image it only captures a very small aspect of illness and my understanding of it. I don’t think anyone can fully comprehend clinical depression unless they’re of a similar state of mind. Even then understanding other’s depression can be quite difficult because the experiences are very much subjective, although they do share some common themes: some language bipolar depressive share are ‘in a fog’, ‘tired’, ‘dull, flat and dreary’, ‘lost its colour’ etc [1].

However, I say this without much conviction since I’m not bipolar and don’t suffer from clinical depression. The above is based on reading excrepts by manic-depressives and my own thoughts on what depression might be like (I know that’s very hypocritical to what I’ve said above).

[1] Goodwin FK, Jamison KR. Manic-Depressive Illness. New York: Oxford University Press; 1990. p. 16.

[strawberry gashes – jack off jill]

~ by Abhinav on January 9, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
